Testimonials

Tracy

Sleeping in Millican Dalton's Cave

I had the best time on Chris' wildcamp in a cave ! I was a little worried and Chris put my mind at ease (a bit) whilst keeping the excitement of the unknown going. I learnt a lot and really enjoyed my time. Chris is very knowledgeable and friendly. the whole trip was awesome from start to finish. If you're just thinking about it...do it. I'll be going on the next for sure ✌

Nicky

Sleeping in Millican Dalton's Cave

I told my friends I was going upto the Lake District to camp overnight in a cave. ‘Camping?’ they said.
‘In a cave?’ they said.
Well I knew I was excited to do it but I didn’t know how fab it would be. Chris is a fantastic leader to go with, relaxed, fun and thinks of every small detail to make the event the best it can be. I learnt a lot about what to do and what not tod. I’d really recommend to book onto an event, you won’t regret it!! 5 ⭐️

Kath

Sleeping in a Millican Dalton's Cave

Think you've been wild camping before? I'd definitely recommend going with Chris- he taught me so much & we had a really fun experience in a cave in the lakes, learning so many new skills and about survival/ equipment & wild camping in general. Great guy, very knowledgeable 10/10 -fantastic!!!

Emma

Navigation Workshop - Lake District - Dec 2018

What a fabulous day! Just been on a navigation day course...thoughts: Absolutely Bloody Brilliant!

Chris is incredibly knowledgable, not only about all the finer details to spot on navigation, but his surroundings, weather and equipment! It’s been a great day and would highly recommend Chris for this navigation course and all the others he runs! I’ll definitely book myself on more!

 

Thanks Chris for a fab day! 👍🏼

Nicola

Navigation Workshop - Lake District - Dec 2018

Had a great day out in the Lake District fells learning some navigation skills. Chris teaches in a way that is professional and knowledgeable but also fun. I started the day thinking I’d never want to see a compass again and ended ordering myself a new one to get out practicing my new skills!

 

My friend had never even opened a map before today and managed to keep up and learn just as much- thanks to Chris& Paul’s patience. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to learn from scratch or improve their skills. 🏔⛰👍🏻

Paul

Assisted on a Navigation Workshop - Lake District - December 2018

I have just returned from a days navigation course shadowing Chris furthering my experience as an ml trainee.

 

When you are not the instructor or attendee it gives you the opportunity to observe listen and learn. Whilst Chris was very thorough he had a very relaxed approach about him his class were never afraid to ask further questions or make a contribution when appropriate. I could see them growing in confidence as the day went on and it was great to see how much the class had developed both personally and as a group when the day concluded.

 

Chris is very passionate about his business and giving his clients exactly what they require. For myself I gained so much from today and as I often say it’s the little things you learn from others, that they may not be even aware of. I have now asked Chris to mentor me to help gain my Ml award

Lauren

Night Navigation Workshop - Lake District - August 2018

I joined Chris for his Night Navigation course and not only did I see the two shooting stars racing each other across the sky, the milky way and gorgeous moon suddenly lighting the path as it popped out from behind a cloud, but I also got the chance to REALLY get stuck into some good navigation practice in low visibility.

Chris knows his stuff and is clearly passionate about the subject, the mountains and outdoors - he is a great teacher to learn from. I was able to learn new techniques, the pros and cons of each and experience how very different navigation is when you really can’t see very far (and that doesn't just have to be at night). Being able to try things out, being allowed to make mistakes then learn from then really helps things sink in and I came away feeling much more confident in what I can do with a map and compass.

 

I couldn’t recommend this course more. So thanks Chris!

Martin

Group Walk - Lake District - May 2018

Took us up Cat Bells and safely down again on a hot day!

Rae

Beginners Night Photography Workshop - Lake District - March 2018

Thought the class was great. You managed to explain everything really well so even I understood it!

You were very patient and you obviously knew your stuff. I have a much better understanding or how to use the manual settings, time, ISO and aperture now. Plus I know about light painting now - never heard of that before.

Learned loads and enjoyed it.

Marc

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Lake District - February 2018

What a great day on the Navigation & Map Reading Workshop with Chris & John. Both possess a vast knowledge on the subject and explained the key skills very well to the group.

 

I took so much away from the day and will feel much more confident the next time I head off into t he mountains.

Can highly recommend.

Brian

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Lake District - February 2018

Had a great day Chris. Certainly feel more confident with my map reading skills. Great instruction and good crew on the course. Weather was kind thankfully.

Certainly recommended.

Dawn

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Lake District - February 2018

Thank you for such a fantastic day. I learned so much as a result of spending time out with yourself and John and it was good to meet other people.

My map reading and navigation skills have certainly developed as a result of the day from which I can continue to practice (I now have a proper compass and understand the benefits of a 1:25k map!).

I would certainly recommend your workshop.

Jenny

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Lake District - December 2017

Great day with a great group. Chris is very patient and a fab leader.

Lisa

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Lake District - December 2017

Brilliant day out on the navigation course with Chris!!


Great meeting the rest of the group too!!

Dave

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Lake District - December 2017

What a fantastic day on the Navigation Course with Chris.

 

This guy really knows what he's talking about and has a wealth of experience in the great outdoors. A fun, and exhilarating day up on Great Crag and stopped at regular intervals to get our bearings and for explanations (in some detail) on how and why you do things to ensure you know exactly where you are when you up on the fells. The weather couldn't have been better and the company was brilliant.

 

Five stars all the way for this thoroughly enjoyable navigation experience.

Josh

Wild Camping Workshop - Peak District - November 2017

I had a great time at the weekend. I really enjoyed it and you were really thorough and thoughtful about the whole process, taking everything into consideration which gave me great confidence in you from the start. 

 

You offered great tips, advice from the start and throughout. Even down to helping me pitch my tent.

 

I would definitely cone camping with you again and hopefully next time have time to come for a walk the morning we wake to. All in all a thoroughly nice guy and a great bunch of people camping out Saturday night.

Another Dave

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Peak District - November 2017

Just a quick note to say thanks for the map reading course on Saturday it was a great day and very interesting. You  made the day very enjoyable.

Dave

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Peak District - November 2017

Thanks to Chris for a really enjoyable day. The way he passed on his experience is both fun and also very educational. I learned navigation skills that I will be able to use on the hills.

 

I recommend the workshops to anyone from a beginner to those who wish to improve their skills.

 

Many thanks.

David

Mountain Skills Weekend - Peak District - November 2017

Chris iss a great instructor, friendly & inclusive. The navigation workshop was very informative, the wild camp was great and he advised & helped us as necessary. Kinder ramble was a great days walk with 2 good guys.

Jo

Beginners Night Photography Workshop - Borrowdale - October 2017

After chatting with Chris on Facebook about his amazing night photographs, I made the wise decision to join him on Walking The Wild’s night photography session.

 

Having a good grasp of photography basics including aperture, iso and shutter speed, I was able to build on this, applying my existing knowledge to the new I gained from Chris.

 

Would highly recommend.

Chas

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Lake District - October 2017

Thank you, enjoyed it, learnt some new skills look forward to seeing you soon.

Jane

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Lake District - October 2017

Had a great day with my son navigating the fells,map reading and learning how to use a compass correctly...thanks to Chris for his leadership.

Claire

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Lake District - October 2017

I am in a small walking group in the Lake District with mixed abilities. I recently joined Chris for his Navigation & map reading workshop as I had no real map reading skills and felt I was merely muddling along. On the day, the forecast was poor with Storm Brian threatening, however we were assured that the workshop would still go ahead regardless. I liked this as the weather can turn treacherous on any given day in the mountains.

 

When we arrived at the start Chris introduced himself and shook everyone's hand . He then discussed exactly which route we would take for the workshop. From the very start I felt in good hands and trusted his judgement. Throughout the day he taught us how to use our compass and how to interpret our maps and use them together to get bearings. The weather continued to deteriorate, however he continued confidently and put everyone at ease.

 

Everyone had a turn to do something whether taking pace or taking a bearing. He spoke us through every step of the route using the map and identifying our exact location.

 
To round up I feel that Chris's educational session was exactly what I was looking for and they were professional but friendly throughout .


I now feel I can be more confident  in my solo hikes & in future will be able to lead a walk in my group. Most of all I feel confident that I can be safe without relying on the modern phone apps available.  I highly recommend this for anyone who loves the outdoors. 

Thank you to Walking The Wild for a fantastic informative and educational day!

Claire

Laura

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Lake District - October 2017

Superb navigation course with these two! Highly recommend!

Lisa

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Lake District - October 2017

Totally brilliant experience and the weather was wet and windy

Philip

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Rivington Moor - Septmber 2017

I attended the navigation course on Rivington. I'm now more knowledgeable on how to read a compass now and enjoyed the course.

 

I would really recommend to anyone who whats to learn how to read a map and Compass, just to home your skills

Lisa

Guided walk - Loweswater Fells - September 2017

Great walk, well organised, at a pace that suited everyone, friendly and fun with some sunshine thrown in for good measure. Looking forward to the next one.

Heidi

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Rivington Moor - August 2017

I attended the navigational skills day held at Rivington and thoroughly enjoyed it. The event was informative and put across on a very easy to understand way, with Chris being patient. There were elements of the day which were more hard to grasp and Chris would find a way to explain in which I could understand.

 

The day wasn't about Chris telling us about map reading skills, more Chris making us think and work out what was needed. It covered a lot in a short time but focused on the most important aspects of navigation and keeping yourself safe.

Kath

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Rivington Moor - August 2017

Can't thank Chris enough for his Navigation Workshop. Great for all abilities & equips you with the skills to be safe without relying on other people or technology. Chris was patient and excellent in his explanations and I learned far more than I'd ever anticipated. I feel a lot safer venturing out as a result.

Ten out of ten for Chris' preparation.

 

After explaining the features and what to look out for on each leg, Chris would guide us to identifying potential pitfalls and how to re-gauge our whereabouts, relying on observation as well as the map. Bearing practice and distance benchmarking were brilliant -definitely helps, and also gives a vital safety net for poor visibility. 

A very experienced and knowledgeable chap with a big passion for passing on his vast knowledge. Definitely recommend!

Jon

Navigation & Map Reading Workshop - Rivington Moor - August 2017

Myself and my wife, Michelle, have recently decided to walk the “Wainwrights” and thought it would be a good idea to have at least some basic knowledge to ensure that we were at least holding the map the right way round. 

 

From the first meeting with Chris I felt assured that we were in safe hand as he looked the part. Prior to setting off for the day on the moor, Chris introduced himself and informed us about his experience of hiking and map reading. He also went over what he wanted to cover in the day. 

 

There were some more experienced hikers amongst us and Chris was able to pitch it to all present. Chris had set up a practical exercise for us to do on taking bearings and kept you on your toes by asking you questions about your location in relation to the map and about identifying objects on the map relevant to your location.

 

Overall, my wife and I had an excellent day and we learnt a great deal from Chris about navigation.

Please reload

© 2019 WildFire Expeditions. Registered company 11267782